You are here: Home / Documentation / 3. Description / 3.4 System Settings / Contacts Tab

Contacts Tab

Contacts tab contains the settings of data synchronization between the Contact module in eWay-CRM and contacts stored in your Microsoft Outlook.

In eWay-CRM, you can choose from two types of contact synchronization with Outlook – manual and automatic.

If you want to synchronize all your contacts without exception, the best way is to activate automatic synchronization. The Contacts tab in eWay-CRM Settings is used to adjust this automatic synchronization. More details about automatic synchronization of contacts can be found in the article Automatic Contacts Synchronization between Microsoft Outlook and eWay-CRM.

If you would like to synchronize only few selected contacts, it is up to you to choose from Manual synchronization of contacts or Automatic synchronization restricted by a condition (see description below Set Synchronization Condition From eWay-CRM to Microsoft Outlook). The manual synchronization is used mainly when it is not possible to generalize which contacts should be synchronized and which not. You can learn more about manual synchronization in the article Manual Contacts Synchronization between Microsoft Outlook and eWay-CRM.

Synchronization With Microsoft Exchange in Online Mode

Unfortunately, in case you are using Microsoft Exchange in so called Online mode (non-cached mode), you won't be allowed to enable contacts synchronization. If you want contacts to be synchronized and have no special reason for using Online mode, we recommend to edit Microsoft Exchange account according to this article.

Description of Contacts Tab Options

Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts With Microsoft Outlook Contacts

Checking this option will determine whether or not automatic synchronization is active. Once it is active, every contact created or changed in eWay-CRM will be created or changed in Microsoft Outlook. Synchronization works in both directions, so the same applies to changes in Microsoft Outlook which will be transferred to eWay-CRM. If automatic synchronization is deactivated, you can manually synchronize your contacts.

Set Synchronization Condition From eWay-CRM to Microsoft Outlook

In the case you do not want to synchronize all the Contacts automatically, but you want to synchronize only a group of them, you can define a condition of what Contacts should be synchronized. If you check Set Synchronization Condition From eWay-CRM to Microsoft Outlook, under the Condition button you specify a filter to use for choosing of Contacts. For example, you can synchronize only Contacts with a specific suffix in the email address (see the picture below).

Important: The condition is set only for contacts created in eWay-CRM and synchronized to Microsoft Outlook. Condition cannot be used for the other way because filter values are names of columns in eWay-CRM.

Checking the Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts with Microsoft Outlook Contacts check-box or the Set Synchronization Condition From eWay-CRM to Microsoft Outlook check-box will manifest in the Contact window by change of the Synchronize With Outlook button. The table shows four different manifestations of this status.

Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts With Microsoft Outlook Contacts is checked. There is no condition or this Contact meets the set condition. The Synchronize With Outlook button cannot be manually changed, it is synchronized automatically.
Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts With Microsoft Outlook Contacts is checked. There is a condition and this Contact does not meet it. The Synchronize With Outlook button cannot be manually changed. It is not synchronized automatically.
Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts With Microsoft Outlook Contacts is not checked. Although, the Synchronize With Outlook button is pressed, so this Contact is synchronized.
Automatically Synchronize eWay-CRM Contacts With Microsoft Outlook Contacts is not checked. Although, the Synchronize With Outlook button can be pressed, so you set synchronization manually.

Do Not Synchronize Private Contacts in Microsoft Outlook

It is only possible to change this setting if Automatic synchronization is active. If you check Do Not Synchronize Private Contacts in Microsoft Outlook private contacts from Microsoft Outlook will be excepted from automatic synchronization. You can be sure that your personal contacts will not get into eWay and your colleagues will not see them.

Do Not Synchronize New Contacts From Microsoft Outlook

If you mark this setting, all your current contacts in Microsoft Outlook will be synchronized, but if you create a new contact in Microsoft Outlook, it won't be synchronized to eWay-CRM. It's up to you whether you want to synchronize the new ones manually. The function is used in the case that you want to decide about new contacts and their synchronization and have the order in all your contacts and their sharing.

Categorize Contacts Created From Microsoft Outlook

Checking this option displays a dialog window after every import of contacts from Microsoft Outlook, giving you the opportunity to link imported contacts with existing categories in eWay-CRM. You need to turn on the feature in the administration application to be able to use the settings.

Remove Corresponding Outlook Contacts When Removing eWay-CRM Contacts and Remove Corresponding eWay-CRM Contacts When Removing Outlook Contacts

Here you can choose whether you want to remove a contact from one source when deleting it from the other.