This section gives you the opportunity to assign user permissions to each eWay-CRM module. It is possible to display to a user only the projects in which he is currently involved. You can also prevent the user from deleting any but his own contacts. Permissions are always assigned to groups – user roles, never to a single user.
Important: When a user is in several groups, he or she gets the highest permissions that result from his or her role within each modules. For example, if one role gives user right to see journals and second role not, user will see journals. The exception is Export permission. If one role gives user permissions to export module items and other role not, user has no permissions to export items in this module. It is the same for History permission. If some group has No permissions to history, no matter what other groups have, user has no permission to display history.
Permission assignment can be achieved by selecting the Module Permissions button in the left menu of the Administration Application. When you click this button, the list of user roles created in eWay-CRM will appear. User sees groups that are in section Groups marked as Is Role, or these groups that are not market as Is Role nor Is Category. More information about groups can be found in section Groups. The role can be selected by clicking the role name from the list and then you can assign permissions to the selected group.
The list of modules and actions is displayed in the main part of the window. Permissions can be assigned to these displayed modules and actions. The module name is listed in the Module column; in other columns are actions to which you can assign permissions.
View column is intended for the assignment of permissions to view items in a given module. You can display other permission assignment possibilities by clicking the value in the View column in the row of the desired module.
Description of displayed permissions:
All Items - users have permission to view all items in given module.
Items Related to My Projects, Deals, Companies and Contacts - users are only allowed to view the items which are related to projects, companies, contacts or deals that they can view.
Items From the Same Group as I Am - is specific and it is not being used for permission assignment to user roles. The operation is allowed only if the user is linked with the same category (group) as the item with which the user wants to work. This could mean that the user only sees items linked to the group to which the user belongs.
Items Related to Me - users are able to view items that are related to them.
Only My Items - users are only allowed to view their own items.
No Items (Hide Module) - users are not allowed to see any items in a given module. The module will be completely hidden in eWay-CRM - see Hide Modules.
Create column is intended for permission assignment to item creation in a given module. Clicking a value in the Create column in the row of a desired module will bring up other permission assignment possibilities.
Yes - users are allowed to create new items in a given module.
No - users are not allowed to create new items in a given module.
In the same way as described above in the View chapter, permissions can be assigned for Edit actions.
In the same way as described above in the View chapter, permissions can be assigned for Delete actions.
Export column enables you to restrict the data export out of eWay-CRM. The main goal of the setting is to ensure that data cannot be brought out of the system, for example, data cannot be easily copied and a user cannot take your precious data away.
The setting has only two values. The Yes value is the default one - it enables the export. If you select the No value, data in the module cannot be exported. Functions that are restricted by this setting for a specific user group are (this setting is valid for module lists, tab system and existing relation in the edited module):
- Export of items to Excel or XML
- Bulk print
- Copying of items into the clipboard (Ctrl+C)
- Import to MS Outlook if the module enables it (Contacts, Companies)
- Save to Excel or PDF in the Reports module
- Copy or paste in the Reports module
Restriction for bulk print and copying are valid only in the case that you want to print or copy more items than is the Global Settings Maximum Number of Items to Copy or Print.
History column allows you to set whether the users group will or will not see the History view on module items. Items history is described in this article: Activity History Tracking.
The setting has only two values. Yes value is the default one - it enables History view. If you select No, users group will not see the history of items.
Rows Restriction column enables the limitation of items that are displayed in the lists of modules and tabs. The default value is 0 that represents no limitation. If you want to change the setting, insert numeric value that stands for the number of rows you want to display. For example, if you insert 10 for the Companies module, you will see only 10 items in the Companies list. The restriction also influence the number of items in the tab list of the module in other modules' windows and list under the relation fields where is a choice only from the item of one type. (For example, it means that restriction won't be used on the list under the Superior Item field.)
If you have set any value that is not 0 for a module and you use data filtering in this module's list, the filter is not applied only for displayed items, but for all items that are saved in this module - but from the set of items that meet filtering criteria, only 10 random will be displayed.
If you have groups with similar permissions, you can simplify the permissions assign by their copying.
Permission Hierarchy Diagram
A definition of each permission level is described in more detail in the article: Assign User Permissions.
- ALL - All Items
- INHERITED - Items Related to My Projects, Deals, Companies and Contacts
- GROUP - Items From the Same Group as I Am
- RELATED - Items Related to Me
- OWN - Only My Items
- NONE - No Items
Example of Permissions Usage
The use of permissions is sometimes very restrictive and some modules are so related that you can restrict more of them by editing one permission. Everything is based on logical relations between all modules.
Example: Imagine the situation. The user wants to have functioning synchronization of contacts, even though there are some restrictions.
Solution: In this case, there must be fulfilled at least these conditions:
- user must see contacts,
- user must be able to create companies and contacts,
- user mustn't have prohibited the export of contacts,
- user must be able to edit contacts.